BOONE COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT October 2, 2023

The Board of Directors of the Boone County Fire Protection District met on Wednesday, October 2, 2023, at 4:00 PM, at the Administration Office located at 2201 I-70 Drive NW, Columbia, Missouri. Those present were Chairman Sam Williamson, Board Member Bill Watkins, Board Member Jay Turner, Board Member David Ritchie, Board Member Michelle Motley, Fire Chief Scott Olsen, Deputy Chief Doug Westhoff, Assistant Chief Chuck Leake, Battalion Chief Kurt Doolady, Battalion Chief Clint Walker, Bureau Director Shawna Schnieders, Division Manager Misti Reynolds, and Bureau Director Gale Blomenkamp.

Chairman Williamson called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM.

Board Member Watkins made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Board Member Turner. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Chairman John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner – Yes

Board Member Michelle Motley - Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Bureau Director Schnieders presented the financial revisions as requested by Board Member Watkins.

Bureau Director Blomenkamp presented the four Architect proposals received for the Station 8 process. All four firms are qualified. Staff would recommend that we start negotiations with PW Architects and a runner-up of Esterly Schneider and Associates, Inc. if staff cannot negotiate the appropriate agreement. A motion was made by Board Member Ritchie to authorize staff to start the contract negotiation process with PWArchitects, allowing for additional negotiations with Esterly, Schneider, and Associates, Inc. if a contract cannot be negotiated with PWArchitects. Motion seconded by Board Member Motley. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Chairman John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner – Yes

Board Member Michelle Motley - Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Fire Chief Olsen presented the list of names that staff would like to promote to Captain. Those members being promoted are Cody Cook, Mike Peters, Ben Coe, Don Baker, and Jeremiah VanBlack. Board Member Ritchie made a motion to approve officer promotions. Seconded by Board Member Turner. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Chairman John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner – Yes

Board Member Michelle Motley - Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Chairman Williamson adjourned the open session at 5:42 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Approved by:

Shawna R. Schnieders Administrative Services Bureau Director John Sam Williamson Chairman