BOONE COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT July 15, 2020

The Board of Directors of the Boone County Fire Protection District met on Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 5:30 PM, at the Administration Office located at 2201 I-70 Drive NW, Columbia, Missouri. Those present were: Chairman Dave Shorr, Board Member John Sam Williamson, Board Member David Ritchie, Board Member Bill Watkins, Board Member Jay Turner, Attorney Jeff Parshall, Fire Chief Scott Olsen, Assistant Chief Doug Westhoff, Assistant Chief Chuck Leake, Bureau Director Gale Blomenkamp, Captain Chuck Doss and Bureau Director Shawna Schnieders.

Chairman Shorr called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM.

A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to adopt the agenda. Seconded by Board Member Williamson. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner - Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes

Chairman Dave Shorr – Yes

Chairman Shorr called for public comment. No public comment.

A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to approve the June 19, 2020 board minutes. Motion was seconded by Board Member Turner. No further discussion. A roll call was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner – Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes

Chairman Dave Shorr – Yes

A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to approve the July 1, 2020 board minutes. Motion was seconded by Board Member Turner. No further discussion. A roll call was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes

Board Member Jay Turner – Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes

Chairman Dave Shorr – Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson presented the June, 2020 Financials. The June, 2020 Financials were accepted as distributed.

Fire Chief Olsen gave an update on the COVID 19 issues. Trainings have started back up and continuing to maintain social distancing. EMT and Paramedic classes have started again. Following all public health guidance to protect our volunteers, staff and students. We continue to try to secure N95 masks. Cases continue to rise and now in a younger age group than in the past.

Fire Chief Olsen stated that we would like to wait for the Recruit and Retention position due to the possibility of a grant award. This will be reviewed in July, 2020.

Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated that Pierce Freightliner has received the letter that our attorney sent. There has not been any follow-up at this time. Board Member Watkins stated that a strategy

needs to be developed on how to move forward with apparatus acquisition/replacement cycle. Hopeful, this could be done by the Fall of 2020.

Fire Chief briefed the board on the three open positions.

Fire Chief Olsen referred the board to their packet and the 2020-2 Recruit Eligibility List. Captain Doss stated staff had interviewed 24 applicants and that staff would like to recommend the 2020-2 Recruit Eligibility List as presented. A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to authorize the 2020-2 Recruit Eligibility List as presented. Motion was seconded by Board Member Williamson. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member Jay Turner – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman Dave Shorr – Yes

Bureau Director Schnieders stated the Conflict of Interest Ordinance was an annual ordinance that is required to be submitted to the Missouri Ethics Commission in order to provide direction for board members. A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to authorize the Conflict of Interest Ordinance as presented and authorize the Chairman to sign. Motion was seconded by Board Member Turner. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member Jay Turner – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman Dave Shorr – Yes

Chief Olsen gave an update on sUAS Drone usage over the last few weeks.

Motion by Board Member Shorr to adjourn open session at 6:50 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Approved by:

Shawna R. Schnieders

Administrative Services Bureau Director

David Shorr

Chairman