## BOONE COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT OPEN SESSION MINUTES December 4, 2019

The Board of Directors of the Boone County Fire Protection District met on Wednesday, December 4, 2019 immediately following the public hearing at 5:32PM, at the Administration Office located at 2201 I-70 Drive NW, Columbia, Missouri. Those present were: Board Member David Griggs, Board Member John Sam Williamson, Board Member David Shorr, Board Member Bill Watkins, Board Member David Ritchie, Fire Chief Scott Olsen, Attorney Jeff Parshall, Bureau Director Gale Blomenkamp and Bureau Director Shawna Schnieders.

Chairman Griggs called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

A motion was made by Board Member Wakens to adopt the agenda, seconded by Board Member Williamson. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Fire Chief Olsen stated that the mechanics position was opened up, after Quentin Curry's departure. Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated that we had six applicants and interviewed each of those. Staff would like to recommend Andrew Arnold for mechanics position. A motion was made by Board Member to authorize staff to offer Andrew Arnold the mechanics position in the non-exempt three band up to a step 10, promote Sam Williams to a Mechanic II within non-exempt four band up to a step 10 and provide Aaron Franklin with an increase to a Step 5 in the Exempt 2 band. Motion by Board Member Shorr. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Chief Scott Olsen stated that this was a listing of the 2020-1 Fire District Recruit Class. A motion was made by Board Member Shorr to authorize the distributed list for eligibility for the 2020-1 Fire District Recruit class. Motion was seconded by Board Member Watkins. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

A motion was made by Board Member Shorr to enter into closed session pursuant to RSMo 610.021 (1), (2) and (3). Motion was seconded by Board Member Watkins. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes Discussion was held.

A motion as made by Board Member Williamson to adjourn closed session at 6:02 PM. Motion seconded by Board Member Shorr. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member David Ritchie – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins – Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Chief Olsen discussed the training updates over the last couple of months. The board would like to visit some of the stations more often.

Board Member Ritchie provided an update on the Audrain/Randolph county discussions. He stated that he and Chief Olsen had gone to an informational meeting on November 30, 2019.

Motion by Board Member Ritchie to adjourn open session at 6:27 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Approved by:

Shawna R. Schnieders Administrative Services Bureau Director David Griggs Chairman