BOONE COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT OPEN BOARD MEETING MINUTES December 7, 2017

The Board of Directors of the Boone County Fire Protection District met on Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 4:00 PM at the Administration Office located at 2201 I-70 Drive NW, Columbia, Missouri. Those present were: Chairman Dave Griggs, Board Member John Sam Williamson, Board Member Keith Schnarre, Board Member David Shorr, Board Member Bill Watkins, Bureau Director Josh Creamer, Bureau Director Gale Blomenkamp and Bureau Director Shawna Schnieders.

Chairman Griggs called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

Board Member Watkins made a motion to accept the agenda at presented. Motion was seconded by Board Member Williamson. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member Keith Schnarre - Yes

Board Member David Shorr – Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated that staff had put out a Request for Proposal for Snow Removal services. Staff received four bids and Mow It Alls was the low bid. A motion was made by Board Member Shorr to accept Mow It Alls bid in the amount of \$1,940 per push based upon the RFP document for the Headquarters and Stations 1, 2, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14 and 15. Motion seconded by Board Member Williamson. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member Keith Schnarre – Yes

Board Member David Shorr - Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Chairman David Griggs - Yes

Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated that the Bureau Specialist position had been opened up in late October 2017. Staff received 11 applications and interviewed four based upon qualifications set forth in the position description. Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated it was staff recommendation to hire Tim Williams. A motion was made by Board Member Williamson to authorize the hiring of Tim Williams as the Bureau Specialist of Support Services at a Non-Exempt 1 Step 1 level. Motion seconded by Board Member Watkins. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member Keith Schnarre - Yes

Board Member David Shorr - Yes

Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes

Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes

Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Bureau Director Blomenkamp stated that there had been two people requesting membership into the Pipes and Drums Band. Pipe Major Gail Fitzgerald had recommended membership of both Dana DeWeese and Scott Peterson. A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to authorize the membership of Dana DeWeese and Scott Petersen into the Pipes and Drums band. Motion was seconded by Board Member Shorr. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member Keith Schnarre – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Chairman Griggs referred the bond issue updates to Fire Chief Olsen. Chief Olsen stated that all three squads were in-service and that Captain Kurt Doolady had been the lead on this project and did a great job.

Bureau Director Schnieders presented the health insurance renewal. The renewal as an 18.64% increase for health insurance premiums. Staff recommends that we stay with the current plan and continue to review coverages for the 2019 renewal. A motion was made by Board Member Watkins to authorize the renewal of the current health insurance plan for employees through Anthem BlueCross as presented. Motion seconded by Board Member Shorr. No further discussion. A roll call vote was taken:

Board Member Keith Schnarre – Yes Board Member David Shorr – Yes Board Member John Sam Williamson – Yes Board Member Bill Watkins - Yes Chairman David Griggs – Yes

Bureau Director Schnieders updated the board on the April, 2018 election. There will be two open six-year positions. The filing opening date is December 12, 2017 and the filing end date is January 16, 2018.

The following other events/meetings are scheduled: December 20, 2017 – 5:30 PM Board Meeting

Meeting adjourned at 5:30 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Approved by:

Shawna Schnieders David Griggs
Administrative Services Bureau Director Chairman